Brassica cage refurb.

Beginning as a miserable and wet day and ending boring and overcast…

That aside, completed in the garden today was the task of butterfly proofing the brassica cage to almost air-tight standard. Yes, the long awaited debris net arrived today via FedEx.

As I had been reliably informed, the netting I was previously using (10mm general garden netting) was not up to standard as it could in fact be easily breached by today’s evermore cunning cabbage white butterfly, I deemed the scaffolding netting a necessary purchase.

Anyway, the brassica patch cage was transformed from this:

Photobucket

to this…

Photobucket

As I imagine a refund on the netting would be out of the question, it is now being used to support the peas and beans. I have a bit left over that will be used to protect the soft fruit plants aswell.

Photobucket

Also, as I now own a rather large amount of netting, another cage was added. This one is over the patch where the potatoes were going to be. Since the aminopyralid realisation I am just growing crops that tolerate the herbicide in the various affected areas to make best use of the available space. My brassicas this year are brussels sprouts, cabbage and swede.

Photobucket

An inspired greenhouse viewing area, a slight bi-product to be honest but a great feature nonetheless:

Photobucket

Further jobs today included putting the runner beans into the ground and the companion sweet peas. Hoping theres no more frost.

Leave a comment